The 2023 Björn Ekwall Memorial Award was presented by Dr Tuula Heinonen to Prof. Dr Marcel Leist, chair of the In Vitro Toxicology and Biomedicine Department inaugurated by the Doerenkamp-Zbinden foundation at the University of Konstanz in Germany and the director of the Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing in Europe (CAAT-Europe), on occasion of the 2nd MPS World Summit in Berlin, Germany on June 29, 2023. The award recognizes the recipient's novel and pioneering scientific work, dissemination, and promotion of non-animal science with a determined and targeted goal to replace laboratory animals in research and regulatory testing.

The Björn Ekwall Memorial Award (SEK 30,000) is bestowed annually at the scientific workshop of the SSCT or other relevant toxicological meeting, where the winner may deliver a “Björn Ekwall Memorial Lecture”.